[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
I've been watching everyone working out their various Pros Bingos for this year, and thinking about how badly I failed my own bingo card last year, and how impressive [livejournal.com profile] tinturtle's Million-Word-Fanfic card looks (and clearly far too complicated for me, since I couldn't even managed to cut and paste pictures last year), but wanting to do something this year, to try and post more Pros again, and I think I've finally worked out a nice simple Prosfic challenge for myself - and anyone else who might want to play. *g* Prosfic-by-Year! It's dead simple - I'm going to try and read a Prosfic for every year since Pros began! *vbg*

I'm also going to cheat slightly, and add the Prosfics I've already read in 2023, just to get the ball rolling. It's restrospective, right? *g* So... 47 fics to find, and I'm just going to list them nice and simply, because that way I might actually do it... And the other ones I'll write reviews for too.

A Year of Reading Prosfic By Year )

I have read more fics than that this year, but I can't remember them all just now, and at least one Saints and Miracles by Jack Reuben Darcy is listed as the same year as another fic, so I'll only include the one.
BD ZineReading-slightcrop BD carsittinghappy-cropped
And pics. Cos yes. *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
The mods over at [livejournal.com profile] ljbookbingo have started a fun new game this year - Alpha-book bingo, which I decided to play in my lj as I read this year. And then as I was reading a Pros fic the other day, I suddenly thought... can you guess? *g*

Pros AlphaFic Bingo (keli)


Stamp out the squares for every fic you read beginning with a different letter of the alphabet, and give a link to it in a post in your lj (or here in [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq if you'd rather). It might be a nice way of getting some more Pros into our flists, and reminding everyone of the different Pros stories out there, if anyone else would like to play, just as a personal kind of game?

And a thousand thanks and kudos to [livejournal.com profile] keli, who made the Alpha-book Bingo board, and then tailored it especially for Pros! *vbg*

Would anyone like to join me in playing?
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
More squares taken... *g*

JatSapphire Case-based Doyle pov Hurt/Comfort Women of CI5 Slantedlight Comedy
A winter story Relationship-based Bodie pov Other agents Lads doing other jobs
JatSapphireInjury/illness Alternative Universe WILD CARD GoldenBastet Other character pov Older lads
MacklinGirl First Time Curtain fic Slantedlight Based on a specific episode Post-canon Set mostly at night
Something Fanon Cim3745 Crossover (with another show/fandom) A celebration! Cowley pov Featuring an animal
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
Yeay [livejournal.com profile] jat_sapphire and [livejournal.com profile] macklingirl! *g*

Case-based Doyle pov Hurt/Comfort Women of CI5 Comedy
A winter story Relationship-based Bodie pov Other agents Lads doing other jobs
JatSapphireInjury/illness Alternative Universe WILD CARD Other character pov Older lads
MacklinGirl First Time Curtain fic Based on a specific episode Post-canon Set mostly at night
Something Fanon Crossover (with another show/fandom) A celebration! Cowley pov Featuring an animal
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
I've been gazing at the various book bingos that people are signing up to this year, and not quite having the energy to do one myself, but then I was wondering whether to offer up the Reading Room here at [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq again, and I suddenly thought... *g*

Maybe we could play Prosfic Bingo instead?

Case-based Doyle pov Hurt/Comfort Women of CI5 Comedy
A winter story Relationship-based Bodie pov Other agents Lads doing other jobs
Injury/illness Alternative Universe WILD CARD Other character pov Older lads
First Time Curtain fic Based on a specific episode Post-canon Set mostly at night
Something Fanon Crossover (with another show/fandom) A celebration! Cowley pov Featuring an animal

To get a bingo, you need to read Pros stories that fit the descriptions for each square and post a wee review of the story here at [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq. I'll edit your icon onto that square when I see the review (if two people happen to choose the same one, I'll use the one with the earlier date-stamp - time zones taken into account!) The stories can be as long or short as you like (although using only drabbles obviously wouldn't be fair), and the reviews too (but again, a bit of I-liked-it-because or I-didn't-like-it-because would be nice *g*). The object, of course, is to get a whole row of your icon in any direction.

No deadline for the challenge - and there will be prizes!

You don't have to declare that you're interested to play, but it would be nice to know if anyone did fancy it or if it's a lousy idea, so please let me know what you think below!
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
Somewhat changed from a meme posted by [livejournal.com profile] dimity_blue... *g* Anyone else want to have a go?

A Place: There's an Old Mill by O. Yardly
A Food: The High Up Singing and Alive Fruit by Slantedlight
A Drink: Tea for Two by Alexandra
Animal: Werewolves of London by Rimy
A Number: Four Days and Five Nights by Gloria Lancaster
Colour: Blue Skies by Maggie Hall
Boy's Name: The Devil and George Cowley by Anne Carr
Girl's Name: Breakfast at Tiffany's by Sebastian
Profession: The Good Morning Soldiers by Madelein Lee
A Vehicle: I Saw Three Ships by Gael X. Ile
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
I thought I'd read all this author's fic, but I don't remember reading this one before - thanks [livejournal.com profile] tinturtle for the rec!

There were a few inconsistencies that made me blink, and a few places that seemed a bit overwrought, and I'm not entirely sure I can believe that the lads speak fluent Italian (!), but I enjoyed it in general. It's a post-Diag story too, which somehow always appeals. *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
Is anyone reading Pros fic at the moment? It's quiet here - and there, and there, too! It's nearly the end of August, and it's the late August bank holiday here in lads' land, so let's have a reading challenge this week! This is how to join in:

1 - Read a Pros fic!
2 - Post here to let us know what it was and whether you enjoyed it!
3 - Repeat, repeat, repeat until the end of the week! *g*

There - easy one, right? I know it's been a wee while since I read a Pros fic last - if it's the same for you, then let's see if we can get back into the habit for a wee while, because it's one of those good habits, isn't it... *g*

Backtrack-DoyleMagazine Bodie-Reading-Fic
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
It's been a few weeks now since our last Reading Room, and it seems a bit tumble-weed-y over here, so I think we should play a new game! Are you reading Pros fic? When was the last time you read any Pros fic? Wouldn't it be nice to read some now? *g* What about having a wee flurry of Pros fic rec (or review) posts this week to brighten things up a bit around here?

If you're not currently reading a Pros fic, then maybe try a Random Fic from Circuit Archive - hit the "Random" button, read whatever fic it pulls up, and then make a post to [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq and write a wee little review about it here.

Posts can be as simple or as fancy as you like.

Got more time on your hands at the moment? Go crazy - a picture post inspired by the fic you just read, a quick review accompanied by an embedded vid of the music it made you think of... the vid you made for it yourself! The story it inspired you to write! A photo of the lads you knitted to match a scene in the story you just read! Anything! *g*

Still working? A simple sentence saying whether you liked it and would rec it would do just fine too.

It seems like now might be a good time to feel a bit more like a community again - wanna give it a go? *g*

Bodie-Reading-Fic Backtrack-DoyleMagazine
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
DoyleWritingTechnically it's Friday here now, and what I really want to be doing is reading Pros stories - what I'll mostly be doing is working on Job 2 (once I've finished Job 1) but it occurred to me - maybe a quick press of the Random button at the Circuit Archive might be do-able, and then if I posted quickly about it... more Pros in my flist too!

And then of course I wondered if anyone else might like to play! So - a challenge! Between now and midnight at the end of Monday (your time), head over to The Circuit Archive, hit the Random button, and read whatever fic comes up! (If it's really long and you don't have time then feel free to go back and random until you get a length that fits your free time) Then... nip over here and tell us about it? Wouldn't it be nice to have a wee string of Pros story posts all through the weekend? Go on - how many can we get...? *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
I saw this picture in the Bird Photographer of the Year shortlist, and it made me smile alot and think of Pros. I bet there are people out there who know why... *g* Hover over it to identify the birds.
SanderlingInSpain(MarioSuarezPorras)

I'll add the answer to the post tomorrow, in case people fancy guessing... *g*

ETA - come to think of it, I'll screen answers too, so that anyone who wants to can guess without spoilers! *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
It's been aaaaaaages since there was much Pros in my flist, other than (lovely) Pros pictures, and I'm definitely as guilty as anyone of this. In particular, just now, I've not had a day off work for over a month and I must admit I'm flagging. I need some good things back in my world!

Almost always, Pros posts and chat and stories count as a good thing - so... a wee Pros challenge for anyone out there who still loves our lads, no matter how busy the world is getting!

There are two ways to take part:

1. If you're reading a Pros story right now, or if you've just read one, then post a quick resume of it on your lj, or here in [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq, with a link to the story for anyone else who might want to read and comment.

or

2. Nip over to The Circuit Archive which has a brilliant "Random Story" button, and click it! Read the story that appears, and post to your lj or to [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq to let us know what it is, and what you think of it! (Cheating is okay if it offers you a very long story that you don't have time to read - feel free to random until you get one that fits with your day!)

They don't have to be long stories - wee ficlets and drabbles are Pros writing too - and if there are other places where you can "random", then that's cool too. *g*
EWACbd26 CircuitArchiveRandomButton


Would anyone like to play? *g* Let's see how many we can post, and make our fannish world just a bit brighter!
[identity profile] golden-bastet.livejournal.com
Folks - the comm [livejournal.com profile] stagesoflove is about to start a new challenge round - on, er, Sunday. (And this is the first post since May.)

Basic idea: to write a five story narrative arc (drabbles = 100 words are fine) about Your Favorite Characters.

The five stages of love are defined as: attraction, romance, passion, intimacy, and commitment. There are 33 themes to write to (like days of the week, meals, sports, kink), so there's a lot of latitude on what can be written.

I believe it's one fandom per customer, but someone here might be interested. (I see an old mod used a Pros icon during the first round in 2006. So it's been done before. :D)

More info / signup at http://stagesoflove.livejournal.com/1048432.html.
Go - be fruitful and multiply! Pros fics, of course. ;)

ETA; no, confirmed by the mod herself: as many people who want to write B&D drabbles or ficlets can. So now that you're finished your BB, why keep B/D (or B/C - you know who you are, or whoever) from getting together one more time?
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
It's quiet again (though there'll be a new Reading Room soon) so I thought we might try a CI5hq-type challenge, just as something a bit different...

Are you reading Prosfic at the moment? Are you enjoying it, or hating it, or just thinking it's okay? Either way - post a mini-review here to CI5hq to let other people know! It need be no more than the title, the author and whether or not you like it particularly - or it could include a quote from the story, something that made you think, something that made you cry (or with laughter... *g*) Whether the story's been reviewed before or not, we'd like to know what you think of it!

How many reviews can we get up by the end of the week? And what new stories might we discover...? *g*

8284114 (1) 8284114 (2) 8284114 BDReading(NorfolkDumpling) DoyleReading
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
So it's been a while since we had any sort of Rec Challenge over here - we seem to have narrowed down to mostly Reading Room posts, which is fab in it's own way, but it'd be nice to have some other posts and recs again too!

This morning I was waking up over coffee, and as I often do was randoming through Circuit Archive when I came across a fic that I adored. I recced it quickly over at my own lj and then it occurred to me that it might be fun to have a Random Button Rec/Review Challenge! So...

... your mission, should you choose to accept it on this Friday, is to:

1. Pop over to The Circuit Archive and hit the Random button (fourth along in the menu bar at the top)

2. Read whatever fic you are given (if it's a really long one, and you only have a short coffee-break in which to read and play, then go back and hit Random again until one pops up that's a decent length for you!)

3. Write a quick review of the fic in a post here at CI5hq - it doesn't have to be a recommendation, you might have hated the story, but it's always good to know about things like that too!

4. If you can manage to include this header in your post, with a link to the story, then fab, but if not then just the title and author would work, and we can all find it from there for reading and comments...

I think it'd be rather good to have a flurry of Prosfic-recs(/non-recs! *g*) in our flists again... Please come and play! I shall have a go myself, in just a moment... let me find a cuppa... *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
Can you tell I'm back at work...? *g*

Thinking about what I said in my last post - that I've not been reading much Prosfic lately - and remembering that sometimes all it takes is reading a few of the best Pros stories to get me back into it, I was thinking... would anyone like to play a wee Prosfic game to a) help me choose stories to read; b) add to our list of fic recs here at CI5hq; c) give us something Pros-y to do on a Monday (and/or Tuesday, Wednesday, Thurs...? *g*)

How about creating a Web of Prosfic Recs - rec me a Pros story to read, in a comment below, and I will rec you one back. We'll both post brief reviews/opinions/recs of the story back to CI5hq (or your lj if you prefer, or wherever), and at the end add this paragraph so that someone else can rec us a fic to read and post it too... If even just a few people play then we'll have a shiny string of Prosfic Recs popping up in people's flists! And, depending on how much time we've got, we can do as many or as few as we like... maybe starting with shorter stories, to get going, but longer ones might work too, for people with time on their hands... *g*

So... would anyone like to play?
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
Okay, I'm not entirely sure what I mean by that, but I'm going to leave it up anyway... *g*

Obviously all Pros stories are unique and individual and all, but lately I've read a couple of stories that have seemed somehow... different. I'm not sure if it's the plot, or the premise it's built on being slightly unexpected, or if it's just that they don't fit as easily or closely with my versions of the lads, which is what makes the story seem extra "different", but it's something... Something that makes me sit up and go huh at the end of it, and think about it a bit longer...

Any idea what I mean? Anyone fancy posting recs for a story or two that's made them go huh, and think about it a bit longer...? *g*

And I shall start the ball rolling with a post up above... *g*
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
So, there've been some requests floating around for Pros fic recs, and one of the things I've heard requested is slash Prosfic that's not particularly romantic... which sounds a bit odd in some ways, because our lads being together at all is pretty romantic by some definitions... okay, by mine. *g* But thinking about it made me curious, and since it's been quiet over here as much as anywhere... anyone up for a challenge?

Could we have some recs for non-romantic Pros slash stories posted, please? And if nothing else it'll be interesting to see all the different definitions of non-romantic too! Cos we know the lads are truly, madly, deeply... *g*

One request - please use the header that's on the User page! It looks rather alot like this:

Title:
Author:
Link to story: (if it's online)
Zine: (if it's in a zine)
Short review: (1 to 3 sentences)

Thanks!
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
So... for all I remember lots of people jumped in to say they were happy with [livejournal.com profile] discoveredinalj's format (and I'm glad about that!) I can't help but notice that it's uncommonly quiet over there for a round robin challenge... Last round robin we had over 20 pieces of the story posted in around the same time period, so far this time we only have 4...

Is it bad timing? Everyone just busy? Not keen on the way the plot's going? Lost your muse? Or is it something more sinister - are you all off beavering away on longer stories to please the people in Yahoo who recently complained about too many shorter pieces..? Okay, that's not really sinister, I know (well... *g*), but if it is the case, then this was entirely the wrong time to start a round robin challenge, and maybe it'd be better to scrap it and try something different and longer term instead? Although if everyone's in the middle of other stuff...? Maybe it's time for a challenge break in general?

Anyway - thoughts? Comments? Am I talking rubbish and just being impatient? But I know there's at least one other person staring at it and going huh?!
[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
I keep meaning and meaning to write reviews of Pros stories here at [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq, because I remember that's what I was desperate for when I first knew Pros - with the plethora of fic out there - ideas about where to start, what I might and might not like and so on. And people are always asking for thoughts and opinions about what to read. Trouble is, time gets away from me, and writing a whole review seems like it needs so much thoughtfulness that it ends up at the end of my list of things to do.

So, I was wondering... game for the long weekend, anyone? *g*

What if we all chipped in to reviews with those single, quick comments that are so much simpler to write, but that, with lots of people contributing, would add up to much more information about an individual story or zine? That way we could have all sorts of opinions gathered together in a single place, too, make it easier for people to compare thoughts/likes/dislikes etc? And if a review post turned into a discussion, then that'd be fab too, because that's all the more information, and if no one posted at first, they could always come back a few weeks later and post then - no time limits or anything, although a concentrated weekend of it might be fun?

'course it all depends what people have read/are reading, but I've thought of that too... *g* What if anyone who fancies playing simply posts the title and author of whatever they're currently reading in the subject header - and if they can fill in the review info from the user page that'd be fab too, this bit I mean:

Title:
Author:
Link to story:
Zine:
Short review: See comments below!

... and then anyone who's read it recently/remembers it etc, makes a little comment below - long or short as you like, but it'd all add up to a bigger review?

Anyone fancy playing? And we could do them all at once too - in fact the more going at once the better, because we could use it as an excuse to re-read whatever fic from the posts grabs our attention, and then comment ourselves - a sort of fannish reading/reviewing circle!

So... if you've been reading Prosfic lately, then make a post with the title and author in the subject line, and if you can fill in the Review Info thingie in the post below, with just a commment to invite comments from anyone else who's read it then that's your lot - unless you want to write a more in depth review as a comment yourself, or join in any discussion etc that ensues... I'll post up a couple of examples, and hope that people might join in (otherwise I'll look very silly, won't I?! Plus, I really hope that this makes sense!)

Profile

ci5hq: (Default)
CI5 hq

December 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 1213
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 2627
28293031   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios