[identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] ci5hq
Just before I announce this week's story for discussion, comments to last week's suggest that a few reminders about what [livejournal.com profile] ci5hq and the Reading Room are might be useful.

Here's what the comm's User Info page says, written when it was first set up in 2006 (not by me, by the way, though I was involved):
"CI5 Headquarters is a slash-oriented (but gen/het friendly) rec, discussion and news community for The Professionals. Whether it's a rec for an online or zine story, an essay on anything Pros-related, or news about the actors or the show itself, we want to see it here.

"Since CI5 Headquarters is a space for free and open discussion about all things related to our favourite lads for everyone, whether they have their own Live Journal or not, membership of the community is open, with posting and commenting allowed by non-members. We also encourage commenting by those without LJs, though they can't create an initial post to the community. (That's an LJ limitation, BTW, not one of ours.) If you don't have an LJ, but have a great idea for a post, contact one of the moderators and we'll be happy to post it for you. In keeping with the (largely) unspoken etiquette of fandom, we do also ask that no one cross-posts, copies or quotes anything posted to the community, without the express, preferably written permission of the person who posted it.

"Rules
In keeping with the laid back views of your moderators, we don't want to have hard and fast rules. We do, however, have a few suggestions:
Flames are bad. While you may not agree with everything you read on ci5hq, please show respect for the opinions of other posters and commenters, and keep discussion civil.
Posts and comments should be about some aspect of Pros."

From the blurb on the Sticky Post to the comm about the Reading Room (this was written by me):
"The Reading Room began way back in 2009, and despite the odd pause or two it's still running. Every Thursday we settle in for to chat about a Pros story that's been arranged in advanced, led by a volunteer making the initial post. Everyone's welcome to join in - read the story, read the review, and come and let us know what you think!"

I'm really pleased to say that every post and comment in the Reading Room (including last week's) has followed the comm's request for respect and courtesy and thoughtfulness, just as I'd expect from Pros readers! People don't always agree with each other, but they've always done this in the spirit of discussion - which is the whole point of it.

Discussions are fun and interesting and sometimes (quite often, in Pros, it seems) people learn from them. We have them because we have opinions about things, and we want to hear what other people's opinions are, and to work out how those opinions match and gel - or not. We don't all have the same opinions, and a discussion where people are only expected to express certain opinions isn't a discussion.

There are other forums for feedback to authors, and as an author myself I know it's lovely to receive comments on those forums - please do go forth and comment! *g* But that's not what the Reading Room is. It's a place for readers to talk about things. If authors want to join in, then that's absolutely encouraged - but they (we as authors) need to bear in mind that not everyone is going to like or agree with everything we've written - and the Reading Room is a place where you might find some of those dissenting opinions. The only thing we ask about negative comments or critique is that it's constructive in that a reason is given for it. For example:

I don't like that story, it's stupid. - not really okay. As discussion it doesn't go anywhere, no one's going to learn from it, except about the commenter. Why do you think it's stupid?

I don't like that story, I couldn't understand why the characters acted the way they did. - is part of discussion. It gives people an opportunity to respond by saying "I agree, they didn't..." or I don't agree, I thought that..."

It can be hard to find out that other people don't like your story, or part of your story, or even a single specific word choice that you made. It can stab you to your heart, and hurt (again, personal experience *g*) - and this happens no matter how polite or thoughtful or carefully worded a comment is. Alot of professional authors (and actors, for that matter) have policies about not reading people's reviews of their work, or going to places where they might come across such reviews. I'd suggest that in fandom too, we need to decide as authors whether we personally feel up to reading people's honest opinions. We don't often see the critical side of honest opinions in feedback to stories, but that doesn't mean they're not out there, and that doesn't mean people don't have the right to express those opinions.

[livejournal.com profile] ci5hq, and the Reading Room feature, are places where readers are allowed to have opinions about stories and to express them. We ask people to be polite and thoughtful about it - and people are, and have been, and thank you for that.

Now - on to the next Reading Room...!

Date: 2015-09-07 11:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gilda-elise.livejournal.com
Truthfully, I wish my other fandoms had a place like this. One has something similar, but since most of the stories reviewed are gen, I haven't really gotten involved. So I love that Pros continues to have a forum where we can discuss the stories, where we have an actual conversation. It's probably one of the reasons Pros' "death" is often mentioned, but never realized.

Date: 2015-09-08 10:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gilda-elise.livejournal.com
I've found that, for most fandoms, gen and slash don't mix well. I left an UNCLE Yahoo group because of some not very veiled disgust with slash. I got into that old discussion, you know the one, "explain to me why you like slash, I have friends who do but I don't understand it." Why the person doesn't just ask their friends is beyond me. Anyway, it got heated. When the mod apologized to me–off list!–that was sort of the final straw.

I can't stand Tumblr, at least when it comes to discussions. And, after awhile, I even got bored with scrolling through the pictures, so I haven't visited there in ages. I do so hope discussion continues on LJ. The traffic has certainly slowed, but not dried up completely.

Date: 2015-09-11 04:10 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Dear Reading Room. How do I make sure that my stories are NOT included for discussion in this group?

Date: 2015-10-18 08:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moonlightmead.livejournal.com
By contrast, I would have *loved* to see people pick one of my stories and discuss it in depth and honestly. I know full well that not everyone cares for them and would have found it fascinating to find their honest feelings about them. I think that's not going to happen now. And I am sad about that.

But: if we're going to start making lists, a list of quiet hopefuls would be nice, and we could say whether we would be happy to answer questions or promise not to comment until way later, or whatever.

I would really have liked to see someone say 'Cowley just wouldn't...' or 'That's totally not my understanding of CI5' about some of my more outré suggestions. But now, of course, by saying so, it will never happen. :(

Date: 2015-10-18 09:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moonlightmead.livejournal.com
That is a very lovely offer. Could I think about it a little? As you have said, once people *know* I'm likely to loiter (palely?), they are more likely to worry that actually, I will brood or take offence! But the format sounds as though it should work. My only concern is then failing to answer - as you know, I have some health issues and I would hate people to go to all the trouble and then get single-sentence replies because I am half asleep!

I shall give up attempting to reply to All The LJ Posts and actually try to sleep now, and then reply tomorrow, which should give me an indicator of tiredness and touchscreen tapping rejuvenation! Thank you!

Date: 2015-10-19 01:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moonlightmead.livejournal.com
Slightly more alert now, phew; and yes, I'd like to give this a go, I think. Helpfully, I do have a masterlist at the top of my LJ, and I do have remarks about welcoming concrit both there and in my profile; and I have deliberately solicited criticism before, in respect of Blown.

Yes, I'm much more interested in knowing what people think than in persuading them of anything. I don't deliberately write to irritate people, either. Let's try it!

Curious to known which you might have picked, now, too!

Date: 2015-10-19 01:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moonlightmead.livejournal.com
Well, how about broaching it asap, and seeing if people want to do it, and I'll have a think about whether there is anything I should add? One question, I imagine, is, do people want me looking at in-progress conversations at all, or whether I should hold off until people have got into the spirit of it!
Edited Date: 2015-10-19 01:46 pm (UTC)

Date: 2015-10-19 02:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] moonlightmead.livejournal.com
Okey-doke, got you. Yes, go for it!

Profile

ci5hq: (Default)
CI5 hq

December 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 1213
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 2627
28293031   

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios